Queso Fundido

While I am not a fan of the folks at Cook’s Illustrated, they certainly test the shit out of everything they cook to find the best possible recipe. The thing is, i don’t really like the best possible recipe. I like some ingredients, a sense of the proportions and then don’t be in my way.

But as it happened, I got a review copy of “The Best International Recipe” by Cook’s Ill and began to read it. The recipes looked like fair representations of the cuisines (Mexico, Latin America, Central Europe, France, Spain, Italy etc.).  So, WTF. I sort of decided to cook my way through it.

Mexico was the first cuisine and Queso Fundido was the first dish. Although my friend Beth called it fancy-sounding stuff, it’s just a totally overwheming flavoricious fondue with cheese, hot sausage and chiles. Call it apps for 8 or dinner for 2. At our house, it was dinner.

4 ounces chorizo, skin off, medium chop

1 poblano chile, julienned (or other moderately hot chile)

1/2 onion, sliced thin

8 ounces Queso Asadero (at a Spanish market) or Monterey Jack (NOT grated), medium dice

Tostitos Restaurant Style White Corn Tortilla Chips (the best)

Saute the chorizo in a little bit of olive oil until the fat starts to render, a minute or two, then add the chiles. Cook for a couple minutes, then add the sliced onion and cook until softened, five minutes or so.

Spread the cheese evenly over a pie plate or shallow casserole, and spread chorizo mix over the cheese. Bake in a 350 oven until the cheese is melted a little, about 10 minutes. Serve with tortilla chips and beer.

3 thoughts on “Queso Fundido

  1. Pingback: Chile » El España-Chile, más amistoso que nunca

  2. Damn, Pat, I almost thought you were going to stop blogging on food. Thank the powers that be that you are still on it.

    WARNING. Pat, if you changed so much as one ingredient or direction in your post about the C.I. recipe, they (C.I) will contact you and threaten you with legal action if you don’t remove their name and recipe from your blog. If you don’t believe they can be so petty, I can post a link to another food blog that was threatened with legal action for doing just that. I canceled my subscription to them for just that reason, and let them know exactly, in detail, why I canceled. Other than that piss ant attitude, they are a fine site and magazine.

    Other than that, keep up the good blogging.

  3. Damn, Pat, I almost thought you were going to stop blogging on food. Thank the powers that be that you are still on it.

    WARNING. Pat, if you changed so much as one ingredient or direction in your post about the C.I. recipe, they (C.I) will contact you and threaten you with legal action if you don’t remove their name and recipe from your blog. If you don’t believe they can be so petty, I can post a link to another food blog that was threatened with legal action for doing just that. I canceled my subscription to them for just that reason, and let them know exactly, in detail, why I canceled. Other than that piss ant attitude, they are a fine site and magazine.

Leave a Reply

