Hello again.

The thing I hate about blogs is when people apologize for not having blogged lately, like this vast audience of readers let their coffee get cold sitting around waiting for the latest words.

As if!

Anyway, I hope your coffee’s not cold. Let’s recap: almost a year ago, I took a leave of absence from The Patriot-News to provide assistance in a difficult family time. To make a little money and possibly learn something about my favorite topic — FOOD —  I also got a part-time job in the kitchen of the Hilton Harrisburg.

I had not worked in a professional kitchen since high school. It was hard and easy.  Hard in the sense of scale: chopping enough peppers julienne to fill a six-inch deep hotel pan, for instance.

julienneThat is 12 inches by 20 inches by 6 inches, or 1,440 cubic inches.

hotel-pan

Not to put too fine a point on it, that’s a lot of standing at a stainless steel table chopping. (Sorry, pix not mine. Had enough to do chopping, cooking and writing.)

Easy was in the situation: for the first time in my entire adult work life, i didn’t have to be the smartest guy in the room. (Yeah, newsrooms are like that.)

I started to blog about the kitchen (journalize, really), so I’d remember more when it was over. Along the way, I realized I didn’t want to step back and think about cooking, i just wanted to cook. So the blog moved way to the back of my mind.  Now it is over, the Hilton part, and I’m (probably) on my way back to the newspaper.

Also along the way, I had a brief flirtation with Slow Foods and entered into a serious romance with Zen.

So all of that will now be a part of this, and if any of it interests you I hope you’ll read and write me.

Best,

Pat Carroll

One thought on “Hello again.

  1. While I haven’t exactly let my coffee get cold waiting for the next blog post, I am really happy to see you say “hello” to your keyboard!

Leave a Reply

