My oh my, Tomato Pie

tomato_pie.jpg

Last month I made this pie as a test recipe for Leite’s Culinaria, and now they’re released the recipe.

It is so good. It is warm and crunchy and has all the mouth feel of a wonderful pizza, but it’s also a great pie. The crust is easy to do and superb — and I do not bake, as a rule. I didn’t even own a pie plate, I had to go to Giant and buy one.

Two things:

1. Don’t do this in the order the recipe says. Make the tomato filling first … it is way easier.

2. If you violate all that is sacred about August and used canned tomatoes, drain them well, slice them thin and resist the temptation to pour any juice into the mix. From other people who have made this pie, I can tell you that with too much juice the bottom crust gets soggy.

Leave a Reply

